About Seaton Valley

Seaton Valley locality lies in the South East of Northumberland, bordering with North Tyneside to the south, and has a population of 15,500(1) (rounded to the nearest 100 people).  In terms of area, it measures 28.4 km² (the largest of the 10 localities in South East Northumberland) and has a population density of 540 people per km².

Seaton Valley locality includes the villages of Holywell, New Hartley. Seaton Delaval, Seaton Sluice and Seghill.

(1).  Source – Office of National Statistics – 2021 Census

Seaton Delaval

Seaton Delaval is the main service centre for Seaton Valley, and lies at the centre of the Valley. It is a historic village associated with Seaton Delaval Hall and the Delaval family, but was also a mining area. It contains a mix of social and private housing. Facilities include the area’s high school, Astley Community High SchoolWhytrig Community Middle School and Seaton Delaval First School, a community centre, Seaton Delaval Arts Centre, a post office, two Co-operative supermarkets and numerous other shops, pubs, cafes and take-aways, social clubs and Elsdon Avenue Church.  It also contains Astley Park, the main public park for the Valley area. The main office for Seaton Valley Council is located in Seaton Delaval.

Seaton Sluice

Seaton Sluice is a large village on the coast. It includes the village of Old Hartley, still recognised by some local people as a separate village. The village has an attractive setting at the mouth of Seaton Burn, with a historic harbour, a fine sandy beach and dunes, and the open space of Holywell Dene nearby. It is also the closest village to Seaton Delaval Hall, a National Trust property. As a result, Seaton Sluice is both an attractive residential area, and a popular visitor destination. Village facilities include two schools, Seaton Sluice First School and Seaton Sluice Middle School, a community centre and library, post office, several shops, cafes, pubs and social clubs, and  St Paul’s Church, Church of our Lady and the Methodist Church. The village has significant industrial heritage, linked to the Delaval family.


Holywell is a small village that lies just to the south east of Seaton Delaval, without a clear physical separation between the two villages. The village has its own character and identity, and benefits from being close to Holywell Dene, offering attractive walking routes. The heart of the village is a conservation area due to its historic character. Village facilities include Holywell Village First School, a small community centre, a shop, cafe, two pubs and St Mary’s Church.

New Hartley

New Hartley is a small village to the north of Seaton Delaval. It is a former mining village, with a strong identity, partly associated with the New Hartley Colliery disaster of 1862. Village facilities include New Hartley First School, a community centre, post office, a shop, a pub, the Victory Club, St. Michael and All Angels Church and Our Lady & St. Joseph Church.


Seghill lies on the western edge of Seaton Valley, close to the A189 and A19 trunk roads and within easy reach of the northern edge of North Tyneside. It is a former mining village, with a relatively large proportion of former mining and other social housing. However, it also contains some newer developments of private housing, and a few older properties. Village facilities include Seghill First School, a community centre, post office, several shops and take aways, a pub, Seghill Rugby Club and other social clubs, Holy Trinity Church and the Methodist Chapel.