Seaton Valley Council, first came into being on 1st April 2009, following local government review in Northumberland which saw the then six District Councils in Northumberland, and the County Council merge into one Council for the whole of Northumberland.

As part of this process a number of new Parish Councils were created throughout Northumberland to provide localised services and to account for these services to their communities.

Since 2009 Seaton Valley Council has taken on a number of responsibilities from the County Council because both Councils have decided that these services are better provided locally. Further details of the services provided by the Council can be viewed via the tabs at the top of this page.

Seaton Valley is located in the South East corner of Northumberland and incorporates the five villages of Holywell, New Hartley, Seaton Delval, Seaton Sluice and Seghill. Further information on each of the villages, and a location map, can be found via the More About Seaton Valley link on the Home Page.

The Council

This section of the Website introduces the Council under the following headings:

Councillor Details – contact details and photographs of the Council’s nine ward councillors.

Council Meetings – a schedule of meetings together with the Agendas and Minutes of the Council’s three committees i.e. Full Council, Finance and General Purposes Committee and the Planning Committee.

Copies of reports relating to any agenda items (excluding confidential items) can be obtained by contacting the Clerk who will arrange to send an electronic copy to you.

Corporate Objectives – details of the Council’s Plain English Corporate Objectives

Governance – details of the Council’s budgets, accounts, audit reports, standing orders and financial regulations, how it meets the requirements of the 2015 Transparency Code and the Council’s  complaints procedure.

Planning Applications – the Council’s role in the planning application process.

Staff Team – contact details and photographs of the Council’s staff.