The Council

Seaton Valley Council came into being on 1 April 2009, following a local government review in Northumberland which saw the then six district councils in Northumberland, and the county council merge into one council for the whole of Northumberland.

As part of this process, several new parish councils were created throughout Northumberland to provide localised services and to account for these services to their communities.

Since 2009 Seaton Valley Council has taken on several responsibilities from the County Council because both Councils have decided that these services are better provided locally. Further details of the services provided by the council can be viewed in the drop-down menus at the top of this page.

Seaton Valley Council has three council wards; Hartley, Holywell, and Seghill with Seaton Delaval.  Each ward has three parish councillors.

Seaton Valley Council Crest

To preserve the history of the area, we decided that we would use the crest based on that of the now abolished Seaton Valley Urban District Council.

The central crown represents the Crown Parish of Seghill, which covers Seghill, Seaton Delaval and Holywell.

The miner’s lamp has the letters S and V on either side for Seaton Valley.  The crossed pick and shovel represent the mining heritage of the area.

The motto – WE SERVE – was used by the Urban District Council and we thought still appropriate for use by Seaton Valley Community Council.

The Council menu has links to the following information.

Councillor Details

Contact details and photographs of the council’s nine ward councillors, information about their surgeries, and maps of their wards.

Council Meetings

Schedule of meetings together with the Agendas, Reports and Minutes of the council’s three committees i.e. Full Council, Finance and General Purposes Sub-Committee and the Planning Sub-Committee.

Corporate Objectives

Details of the council’s plain English Corporate Objectives.


Details of the council’s budgets, accounts, audit reports, standing orders and financial regulations, how it meets the requirements of the 2015 Transparency Code and the Council’s complaints procedure.


The council’s role in the planning application process.

Staff Team

Contact details of the council’s staff team.